## June 12 2024

## Yukon Championships Long

Course Planner: Dave Hildes Controller: Afan Jones Event Director: Erik Blake

71 orienteers came out on a beautiful June evening to participate on the first (of three) Yukon Championships: the long. This was our regular meet on the new Mt Mac map, which was remapped in 2023. There are lots of trails on this map and wide range of runnability in the forest which leads to many route choice options. The meet had more courses than our usual offering and designated start times as the event was being used for the course planner's 0300 officials' certification. The event used the new Orienteering Canada skills-based format.

Mia Nishikawa, Linden Cronmiller and Selwyn Cronmiller led the juniors on the beginner course. Angus MacLeod, Erinn Komschlies and Madelyn Williams (with Mia) were the top adults.

On the novice course Iliana Koh, Nelia Turquotte and Chloe/Quinn Kennedy were the top places. Peter Harris, Jimmy Kennedy (with Quinn and Chloe) and Darcy Olesen (with junior Romy Willomizer) led the adults.

The intermediate course had most participants at 21. Peter Embacher led juniors (and also the overall on this course) followed by brother Erik Embacher (3<sup>rd</sup> overall) and then Midori Nishikawa. Judith van Gulick, Lara Melnik and Glenda Koh were the top three women and Daniel Dreiseitc was top male (2<sup>nd</sup> overall).

The advanced course increased the difficult and had 16 on course. Ian Turquotte was the only junior to attempt this course and knocked it out of the park with 4<sup>th</sup> place overall. Rima Khouri (running with Ian), Sabine Schweiger and Rachel Moser were the top three women. Darren Holcombe, Jeremy Johnson and Erik Blake were the top three overall on this course.

The expert course didn't increase the difficulty from the advanced course but was physically harder (longer and more climb). Carl Turquotte was the only junior on the course and (family trend) also had a great run coming in 2<sup>nd</sup> overall. Pia Blake (1<sup>st</sup> overall), Dahria Beatty (3<sup>rd</sup> overall) and Mara Leitane were the top three women.

The elite course again didn't increase in difficulty but added a grueling 3.8 km and 110 m of climb from the expert course. Colin Abbott, Leif Blake and Benoit Turquotte were the top three. Forest Pearson had a time just behind Leif but does not qualify for top spots as he was part of the organizing team and helped in the planning of the course.

Thanks to the starting team of Sabine and Erik and Chantal and Doug for picking up controls. Afan not only controlled the event but helped in the arena set up and picked up most of the controls. A huge thanks

to organizing team of Erik (event director), Afan (controller) and Forest (course planning mentor) for guiding the course planner (Dave) on his path for O300 level course planner certification.

BEGINNER 2.4 km 70 m climb						
Angus	MacLeod	22:56				
Erinn	Komschlies	28:43				
Mia	Nishikawa	47:14	J			
Madelyn	Williams	47:14	-			
Linden	Cronmiller	50:58	J			
Selwyn	Cronmiller	51:28	J			
, Barbara	Scheck	Shadow			7 on course	
	NOVICE 2.7 kr	n 100 m clii	mb			
Iliana	Koh	32:01	J			
Nelia	Turquotte	35:23	J			
Peter	Harris	43:45				
Quinn	Kennedy	46:26	J			
Chloe	Kennedy	46:26	J			
Jimmy	Kennedy	46:26				
Leo	Willomitzer	46:40	J			
Romy	Willomitzer	51:13	J			
Darcy	Olesen	51:13				
Elias	Mah-McCord	51:30	J			
Connie	Blaskeston	52:26				
Carl	Embacher	54:42	J			
Atticus	Mitchell-Richards	59:47	J			
Leif	Austad	59:47				
Cheylsea	Mitchell	59:47			15 on course	
	INTERMEDIATE 3.	0 km 120 m	n cli	mb		
Peter	Embacher	24:19	J	M		
Daniel	Dreiseitc	25:40	•	M		
Erik	Embacher	29:31	J	Μ		
Judith	van Gulick	33:14	•	F		
Lara	Melnik	33:14		F		
Glenda	Koh	47:04		F		
Midori	Nishikawa	48:39	J	F		
Graham	Nishikawa	48:39		М		
Deb	Kiemele	55:17		F		
Wendy	Nixon	56:17		F		
Sonya	Elias	66:47		F		
Karen	McMiken	66:47		F		
Georgi	Pearson	85:43		F		
Doug	Hitch	90:13				
-						

Craig	Brooks	115:57		
Chantal	Frances	133:47	F	
Anais	Hildes	MP	F	
Cassie	Jensen	MP	F	
Nesta	Leduc	MP	F	
Bob	Nishikawa	MP	Μ	
Friend of Bob		MP	М	21 on course

#### ADVANCED 4.2 km 135 m climb

			-	
Darren	Holcombe	51:43	Μ	
Jeremy	Johnson	53:06	Μ	
Erik	Blake	62:11	Μ	
lan	Turquotte	73:38 J	Μ	
Rima	Khouri	73:38	F	
Sabine	Schweiger	75:23	F	
Grant	Abbott	82:05	Μ	
Bruce	McClean	86:13	Μ	
Rachel	Moser	87:13	F	
Evan	Wise	87:13	Μ	
Karen	McKenna	89:53	F	
Melissa	Halpenny	94:26	F	
Mac	Clohan	128:20	Μ	
Gary	Clohan	128:20	Μ	
Joe	Bradley	139:24	Μ	
Kris	Gardner	MP	F	16 on course

# EXPERT 5.8 km 230 m climb

Pia	Blake	72:31		F	
Carl	Turquotte	77:24	J	М	
Dahria	Beatty	79:08		F	
Bob	Sagar	101:51		М	
Mara	Leitane	124:05		F	5 on course

### ELITE 9.6 km 340 m climb

Colin	Abbott	82:02	М	
Leif	Blake	93:27	М	
Benoit	Turquotte	105:54	М	
Philippe	Côté-Jacques	125:58	М	
Caelan	McClean	143:58	М	
Forest	Pearson	96:28	Μ	
Riel	Alain	MP	Μ	7 on course

71 Total